Between the Medieval and The Modern

August 1, 2017

CoBloWriMo Day 1 – Introduce yourself

Filed under: Uncategorized — Frau Magda @ 10:02 pm
Tags: ,

So a friend is doing a sort of Blog along over on Facebook, a solid month of prompts for costume blog posts. This is my “history” blog, but that includes costuming, so we’ll use this month to get me blogging again about clothes, and then I’ll shift back to history (because it will be faire season by then and the Guild with be doing its thing).

CostumeBlogging

So, day one is “introduce yourself”. Who am I? I’m a history nerd. I’ve been in love with history, especially historical costume, since I was a little kid. Proof!

 

When I was helping my parents to pack up and move their house, I saved some of my childhood books. These are two of them. I hadn’t quite realized how far back my love of costume went until I saw these again. The Ladybug book is copyright 1965 (I know, I’m dating myself. I R OLD.) and the Instant Picture book is copyright 1967. Although I’m sure we bought it later than that, as I did a really neat job on the transfers. Nobody is upside down or out of place.

I loved the middle ages when I was a kid. I devoured stories like The Door in the Wall and all the Narnia books. And I loved the clothes. I’ve never been a girly girl, except when it comes to historical clothing. If it’s got complicated underwear, I probably love it!

When I was in college, I met my Wasband at a Star Trek convention, and he took me to my first Renaissance Faire (King Richard’s Faire in Carver, MA). I found out that his roommate had made him a smashing set of black and red Elizabethans, so the night before we were supposed to go I hit the fabric store and whipped up a simple T-tunic and cape because I didn’t want to be the only one in our group in a t-shirt and jeans. And I’ve been dressing up and going to faire ever since. That got me started on costuming, and I started sewing my own pieces, as well as buying things at faire. We were also attending Star Trek conventions, so there was some science fiction costuming going on as well. We split up in 2002. And in 2003 I started working faire, as a squire for an armored combat group.

And in 2009 we formed a historical reenactment Guild. Since that time I’ve been concentrating less on fantasy type clothes and more on historical costumes. Our reenactment guild focuses on the 16th century Bavaria/ Holy Roman Empire. But I also do a bit of 18th century, 1920s, and I’ve recently added a 19-teens suffragist to my closet.

Other than a trimester of home economics in middle school, I’m a self taught sewer. So I probably have all sorts of bad sewing habits. I do try to pick up sewing books at used book stores, which helps when I’m trying to figure out how to do things. And I am the world’s slowest seamstress, so this month will probably be more about what I hope to do than actual progress I’m making on projects. But it will at least get me thinking about sewing and getting back to the project pile, which is better than ignoring the sewing room.

1 Comment »

  1. Hi! I used to LOVE those instant picture books [I is old too you see]- thanks for reminding me of the happy hours I used to spend with them. Did you ever get to the stage of doing bad things to the little people? Like transferring their legs in one place, and their torsos elsewhere? Only me then hmmm?
    Ah, and thanks for the term ‘wasband’, stealing that one!

    Comment by thedementedfairy — August 2, 2017 @ 1:02 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

